What am I reading now? March 2012 part1.

BPRD Hell on Earth, Russia.

Very nice.

I’ve always been afraid I would grow tire of BPRD… but years have passed, and I am still hooked. I don’t think of myself of a masochist, thus I am inclined to think these guys must be doing something right!

I think I this series has earned its own review, so… I’ll be working on that.

Black Panther: The Man Without Fear #521

Good combo of interesting and powerful art, and smart script. I liked HOW the writer is dealing with race and prejudice, avoiding easy clichés and keeping the story interesting. The art is so impressionistic that feels fresh!

Carnage USA.

This limited series has going for it pretty decent art, but the story is more of the same, flogging a dead horse, what you get when you just produce more irrelevant stories about a mediocre character.

Not really good, and gave up on it half way through the limited series.

Creepy #7

Oh, praises be sang to you, Dark Horse, for actually doing something with this franchise, after you purchased it.

Now, I completely understand what a challenge it is to live up to the original material. First of all, it was published in magazine/pulp format, and second it had amazing scripts from Bruce Jones and others and amazing art, ranging from Berni Wrightson, Rich Corben and the all-powerful team of Spaniards wunderkids, Maroto, Gonzalez, Gimenez, etc…

And yours is a worthwhile attempt.

That’s why I will reserve my judgment till I read more back issues and future issues of your fine magazine. For now, you get a reluctant thumbs up!

Incredible Hulks #632

Ok. That was weird. I just read more of the same, and I kinda enjoyed it. Actually, I went back, and picked up previous issues to be able to follow the story. And I am not a terrible fan of the Hulk, although John Romita JR made me salivate over World War Hulk.

But this was OK… and there is no palpable reason that I can blame it on. Am I going senile?

Again, I should remind you that I only mentioned the things that I found worth mentioning. Lots of stuff that I read, I may have not found the strength to finish. If you get mentioned here, good for you! Even if it is not a glowing review!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Verio Rizorvan says:

    Good day very cool web site!! Man .. Excellent .. Superb .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally?I’m satisfied to find numerous helpful information right here in the publish, we need work out more strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

