Comic Review (Floppy): Batman The Brave and the Bold #10

Comic Review: Batman: The Brave & The Bold #10

Writer(s): Sholly Fisch

Artist(s): Rick Burchett, Dan Davis
 

US Publisher: DC Comics (October, 2011)

 The Plot:

Follow the misfortune of a henchmen for hire, and the effects his life choices have in his life.

The Review:

A friend who knows my taste in comics pretty well said “You have to read this”.

You can imagine my groaning and moaning when I hear those magic words ‘You have to read this!”

In my pedantic all-knowing stance, I figure the guy has just discovered white-shadowing, or pointillism, or some other technique that’s been around forever, and just now it made it onto DC.

A month later, he asked me again “Have you read that yet?”

After I fumbled for excuses, he appear at my workplace and gave me the issiue.

I read it on the bus ride home.

I LOVED IT.

I return it the next day, and told him “Sorry. Sometimes I can be a jaded ass. You were right. That is awesome!”

Some of you have read my rants about the horror and diservice of assuming that most comics are FOR KIDS.

Exhibit https://comicwatcher.wordpress.com/2011/09/09/save-the-children-please/

I even earned a few nasty e-mails sent to the e-mail address on the blog, on account of my views.

This comic, Batman, the brave and the bold, #10, is a perfect example of how to masterfuly craft a comic for kids that enriches the landscape of comics everywhere.

Sholly Fisch composed a script with lots of heart, smarts and depth that remains masterful for any adult to appreciate and accessible and simple for any kid to love.

And that, my friends, is a truly difficult feat to accomplish.

I have to recommend this to every parent who want to get their kids interested in GOOD comics. The degree of human drama runs parallel to the superhero action in the book. We get to admire The Batman fighting side by side with the likes of Superman, Green Arrow, Aquaman, etc and we seldom pay attention to the henchmen. Who are these guys who allow themselves to be dressed up as clowns, question marks, submariners, etc to follow orders of these supervillians who are going to have their butts handed to them anyway?

The script not only works wonders at the human level but it also provides a few layers. In one we find the protagonist narrating his plight through the underworld. On another layer we find the heroes viewing the story as an eternal antagonism of good versus evil. On the third level we see the families affected by the actions taken, and how it all relates.

Another nod to Scholly Fisch is the fact that he resurrected the character of Matches Malone, the campy alter ego of Bruce Wayne that first appeared in the early 70’s to infiltrate the seedy underbelly of the crime underground. Very good knowledge of your source material, sir!

The art provided by Rick Burchett is effective, clean and very to the point. Although I don’t enjoy this simplistic cartoony style much, I ended up admitting that there was a lot of professionalism and maturity in order to make such a “kiddie” style book, so KUDOS to Mr. Burchett.

I loved to see a book oriented towards younger readers that didn’t talk down to them. A comic that still teached values and good moral views without falling into preachiness. A book that your child can leave around for you to pick up, and you read it without ending feeling dumber than when you started.

Please! We need more comics like these, and we need them now!

We need them as much as we need adults (or alleged adults) to STOP giving inappropriate age materials to their kids. Or we need them to stop having kids.

On my critic’s review Batman: The Brave & The Bold #10 gets

9 out of 10 stars

Leave a Reply

