COMIC REVIEW: Wynonna Earp

Wynonna Earp

Writer(s): Beau Smith
Artist(s): Joyce Chin, Pat Lee
Publisher: IDW
http://www.idwpublishing.com/
Published DATE October 2, 2002

Plot:

The descendent of Wyatt Earp is a blond sexy marshal who is recruited for the Special Ops of the Marshals, and hunts supernatural creatures. Everything in a very western and white-trash kinda setting.

The Review:

The “Friend” who gave me this to read and review has lost his “let me give the reviewer another comic to review” privileges for a while.

Now, let’s use this experience to note that (as some of you may have noted) I’ve been reviewing books that obtained high rankings (yes, for me anything in the range of 6 stars is a pretty high rank). So I take this time to acknowledge that I should also review items that should be filed under “avoidables”.

And the rest? Well, the rest is mediocrity. Is when the book is done as a business tool for the entertainment industry, and those, the mediocre books, are plenty in this world. Those are the ones that get a ranking between 4 and 6 stars.

Now, after reading most of the book, ( I had to stop short about the last 10 pages,  since I was losing brain-cells towards the end by the minute, and I needed to have some left for this review), I felt that somewhere out there in the flatlands, a teenager’s horny dream had come true, and he can read something under the sheets at night without his folks moping too much, or making a big deal, cuase it looks like a comic about cowboys.

My problem is (like many times) clichés. I know that not everyone can be original, and totally creative, and come up with their own mythology, and I know that a lot of writers need to make a living, and that writing is hard and it doesn’t pay as it should (I would know), but this book left me feeling that I had read it before, not with a sense of déjà-vu, but with plain lack of imagination.

So, I said to myself (after the first 10 pages) let’s get through with this, and hopefully there will be something original in it.  But I couldn’t find anything except that this character is the descendant of the famous gunslinger, and she is a chick, and she is hot (and that last part is part of the cliché’, not the originality).

There have been other ladies in comics who are descendants of famous people, even gunslingers, and they are hot, and some may have even fought unnatural creatures: But none were the descendant of this particular gunslinger.

I’m not trying to alienate the audience that liked this comic, and I am sorry if I come across that way. If the extent of your exposure to vampires or night-creatures is the Twilight saga, or catching some Vampire Diaries in TV, then you may find this book amazingly original and sharp, and avant-garde.

I also dig hot chicks! And assertive ones! GO POWER PUFF GIRLS!!! But first of all, there is “a bit” (the quotes mean sarcasm, just in case) of inconsistency with the looks of the main character, depending on who is drawing her. Second, the majority of the artists here seem to be mistaking cheesy-sexy for sexy-sexy.

Having legs that are almost twice the size of your torso…mhhh… makes me revise my “Drawing the human figure 101” class altogether.

Bending over and poking your butt out on your high heels so you can get a can of coke from the bottom of the ice-box… may be OK on MTV videos, but a bit out of character with a US Marshal who has to hunt vampires and other demons.

Anyway, I didn’t know anything about Mr. Smith’s career, (to my dismay, and humbly professing ignorance) so I looked up his writing credits and … I really couldn’t find anything very impressive.

He seems to be a mass-production writer, very well locked-in-step with POP trends, and seems to feel equally at ease contributing to a book about the WWF as well as writing one about mercenaries, or contributing on the comic book saga of 24.

Well, If you liked this book, I encourage you to write me (Either here, on the post, or via e-mail) and let me know why.  I DO NOT SAY THIS IN A FACETIOUS WAY. I am serious. I want to hear from fans, and I want to see if I learn how to appreciate this better.

So, on my Critics rating, Wynonna Earp gets

2  STARS

For unoriginal storytelling and inconsistent art

If I am reviewing it on cheesecake factor, this book would get a 4 ½ Stars… but I can’t live on cheesecake alone, and this one is not that good either.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Beau Smith says:

    Thank you very much for the honest review. I appreciate the time you took to read it and for putting your opinion down and backing it up. I’m sorry I couldn’t entertain you to maximum stars this time, but maybe I will with my next endeavor. I hope so.

    The TPB you reviewed was a collection of the very first Wynonna Earp mini-series that I did at Image Comics (Collected by IDW) back in 1997, since then I did another at IDW Publishing and just recently released Wynonna Earp: The Yeti Wars Graphic Novel. I hope that you check it out at some point and maybe I’ll be able to make you smile with it.

    If you want a PDF file of it, for review, just let me know and I’ll be more than happy to shoot it out to you.

    Thank you again, keep reading and sharing your thoughts.

    All the best,

    Beau Smith
    The Flying Fist Ranch

    1. comicwatcher says:

      First of all, thank you for your comment on my review, Mr. Smith. The degree of professionalism you displayed when posting your response speaks very highly of you.

      After reading the point you made regarding your later work, “The Yeti Wars” I did a bit of research and indeed it seems that the general consensus labels it as a more complex and better received piece of work, so I do look forward reviewing it.

      But since you were as courteous as responding to my review, I feel the obligation of reciprocating the courtesy and not only will most definitely review your other work. I will go even further and strike you a deal:
      If you manage to score a 6 or higher, I will purchase 2 copies of your book, one for me and one for the friend who gave me this book to review. After all, there is no greater demonstration of support for this industry we love than putting your money where your mouth is, and I will love to demonstrate my support aiding your sales figures. (And even though you may be saying “Heck, only 2 copies?” please understand the constraints of my budget. I am writing my blog on a free-blog-host, after all!)

      Also it is worthy of special noting that any author who has set up alerts on his name demonstrates he is serious about his craft, and one who responds so quickly to even smaller reviews like myself demonstrates a dedication to his craft that is both refreshing and commendable.

      Please e-mail me the PDF to the e-mail address in my profile, and I will post a review in a few weeks.

      Again, it is a pleasure to make your acquaintance.
      The ComicWatcher.

Leave a Reply

